Linzi Walker

Hello!

In Uncategorized on January 21, 2011 at 8:28 pm

I’m going to admit straight off, I’m not the best blogger in the world.

I’ll probably send a few posts and keep up with it for a little while, then forget to update for a few months weeks *angel smiley*. However, I thought it was a great way to keep all my recipes in one place. I’m not good at keeping paper either, you see 😉

The first recipe for your consideration is Doris’ bread. Based on the genius wartime recipe by Doris Grant.

Help yourself to a slice and a cuppa… and enjoy 🙂

Doris’ Bread

Before I give you the ingredients, let me tell you that you can use any flour you so wish. I happened to have it in these quantities and enjoyed it, so it stuck. Play with the dough; use olive oil rather than butter, a tsp of brown sugar rather than honey, all white flour, all wholemeal flour. Go forth and make it your own. Eat with butter.

Ingredients

400g strong white flour

50g wholemeal plain flour

1 tsp honey

1 sachet yeast

2 tsp salt

1 tbsp butter

420ml hand hot water

Method

Purists may balk, but I want you to melt the butter in the water and cool, till pleasantly warm. I recommend you do this for no other reason than it causes less washing up than melting the butter in a seperate pot. Anything that gives less washing up is good in my book.

Mix flour, honey, yeast and salt in a bowl.

Pour in the cooled water and butter mixture.

Stir into a loose, sticky dough.

Let the dough fall onto an oiled baking tray. Don’t try to knead. This is a silly idea and results in a sticky, messy countertop. Ask me how I know? 🙂

Leave in a warm place to let the yeast do it’s thing.

Now do your washing up. Not wanting to sound like your old school teacher, or a nagging mother, but it’s much easier. Trust me, it’s three things. Yes, that’s right. Three things and an hour of your time (5 mins hands-on TOPS) and you’ll have the most amazingly delicious smell of home baking wafting up your nostrils.

Bake at 220C/450F/Gas 7 for around 30 minutes, till pale and golden. To test, tap it on the bottom and if it sounds hollow, it’s done. Cool on a wire rack. Or attempt to slice straight from the oven and slather in cold, salted butter. I didn’t do that, if anyone asks. Ok?

Heaven

Leave a Reply

